BBO Discussion Forums: WJ2005 & ACBL GCC or Mid-Chart - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

WJ2005 & ACBL GCC or Mid-Chart The 2-bids legal in ACBL events?

#1 User is offline   Oren Goren 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 2006-September-08

Posted 2009-December-24, 02:35

The heading asks it for me. I don't see how 6-10 with a known suit and another fits any of the allowed categories.

Have I missed something?

(I hope not because I'll feel especially stupid about it.)

oren
0

#2 User is offline   hrothgar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,151
  • Joined: 2003-February-13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Natick, MA
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2009-December-24, 06:48

Oren Goren, on Dec 24 2009, 11:35 AM, said:

The heading asks it for me.  I don't see how 6-10 with a known suit and another fits any of the allowed categories.

Have I missed something?

(I hope not because I'll feel especially stupid about it.)

oren

there is actually a great deal of debate whether a 2 bid that shows

5+ Hearts AND
5+ cards in another suit

is legal at the GCC level...

Please feel free to consult the ACBL and ask for an official opinion.
We'll add it to the growing list...
Alderaan delenda est
0

#3 User is offline   TimG 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 3,972
  • Joined: 2004-July-25
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine, USA

Posted 2009-December-24, 07:14

Oren Goren, on Dec 24 2009, 03:35 AM, said:

The heading asks it for me. I don't see how 6-10 with a known suit and another fits any of the allowed categories.

Have I missed something?

Item #12 on the Mid-chart:

Quote

12. Opening two hearts or two spades showing a weak two bid, with a 4-card minor.
would tend to mean that this method is not legal in GCC events (else why include it on the Mid-Chart).

Further, I recently asked whether #12 could be expanded to include 2 showing 5+ hearts and any undisclosed 4+ side suit (in other words, 4+5 is one of the possibilities). The C&C Committee discussed the matter and determined that it was intentional that the possibility of majors was not permitted and decided not to change things. So, 2 showing 5+ hearts plus a 4+ side suit is not mid-chart legal.
0

#4 User is offline   hrothgar 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 15,151
  • Joined: 2003-February-13
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Natick, MA
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2009-December-24, 07:22

TimG, on Dec 24 2009, 04:14 PM, said:

Oren Goren, on Dec 24 2009, 03:35 AM, said:

The heading asks it for me.  I don't see how 6-10 with a known suit and another fits any of the allowed categories.

Have I missed something?

Item #12 on the Mid-chart:

Quote

12. Opening two hearts or two spades showing a weak two bid, with a 4-card minor.
would tend to mean that this method is not legal in GCC events (else why include it on the Mid-Chart).

Further, I recently asked whether #12 could be expanded to include 2 showing 5+ hearts and any undisclosed 4+ side suit (in other words, 4+5 is one of the possibilities). The C&C Committee discussed the matter and determined that it was intentional that the possibility of majors was not permitted and decided not to change things. So, 2 showing 5+ hearts plus a 4+ side suit is not mid-chart legal.

For what its worth, I agree with what Tim is saying:
If I had to render a ruling on this matter, I'd make the same argument.

However, the ACBL has issued contradictory opinions.
Alderaan delenda est
0

#5 User is offline   dake50 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,211
  • Joined: 2006-April-22

Posted 2009-December-24, 12:09

Just put 11 in there and it passes like Pre 2C: 5+C and [4+M or not].
0

#6 User is offline   Oren Goren 

  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: 2006-September-08

Posted 2009-December-24, 13:07

Thanks, gentlemen.

I guess I didn't miss anything.

So, the question will be:

If one changes to 5+, can contain a side suit of length n+, is there a legal set of responses to cheaply find out if opener has that side suit.

Which brings us to my other ACBLish question in Offline Bridge? , about whether cheapest response asking for side suit; 2NT rebid saying "yes, THAT suit and no cheaper suit". Would be off over 2S.

Thanks
Uncontracted regards
oren
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users