• « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The blunder blog Probably shouldn't interest anyone but me

#61 User is offline   ggwhiz 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-February-03, 12:59

As a rookie, I got my first game with a local expert who saw some promise.

I capped off our 35% game by bidding kc on hearts and getting a 5 reply showing we were off 2 bullets since I had the K. Nowhere to run but what a pard. He shook his head and said, "You are better than this, tommorrow 7 p.m. be there."

If I had noticed this thread earlier I would have it up to a couple of hundred pages by now. :)
When a deaf person goes to court is it still called a hearing?
What is baby oil made of?

#62 User is offline   Antrax 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-February-11, 21:54

Actually not that bad a session, especially considering I haven't really played in over 6 months.
However, one obvious defensive blunder comes to mind:
Favourable, partner deals himself a 2 opening (weak). RHO overcalls 2. Looking at Axxx xxx AT xxxx I'm fine with passing, and LHO bumps to 4. I lead the A and dummy hits with QJxx KT872 xx AT
Partner discourages and I try to decide which black suit to shift to, when a brilliant idea hits me - I can just ask. So I follow with the A, partner discourages again, and the club shift finally releases an encouraging spot from his clutches. Too bad declarer then draws trumps, unblocks the K and pitches his clubs on the good spades in dummy. Somehow I'd only thought about whether declarer could pitch dummy's T, without giving any consideration to pitching losers from his own hand :(

#63 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-February-12, 08:13