BBO Discussion Forums: Absolute Beginner Book - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Absolute Beginner Book Any recommendations?

#1 User is offline   TimG 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-July-27, 09:17

Back in the day, if someone wanted to learn to play bridge, they might be handed a copy of 5 Weeks to Winning Bridge. Is there a contemporary equivalent?

#2 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-July-27, 10:07

The "Learn To Play Bridge" downloads from the ACBL site. Also Kantar's "Bridge for Dummies".

Not really "5 weeks" "equivalents", but I think the best starting points for beginners I've read through. I usually recommend those to start, then move on to Root to advance in cardplay.

"5 weeks" still has excellent cardplay material of course, but the bidding is dated, and maybe the play advances in difficulty a bit fast for a beginner?

#3 User is offline   chasetb 

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2012-July-27, 10:21

Well, I started bridge 3 years ago, and the first book I read was The Complete Idiot's Guide to Bridge (1st Edition) , H. Anthony Medley with a foreword from Mike Lawrence. I checked it out free from my local library, and while it taught rubber-style bridge, toward the end it had all the stuff you needed if you wanted to switch over into duplicate. The early stuff is on bidding, but towards the end they do get on cardplay.

Since then, a 2nd Edition has been released (Lawrence is now a co-author), and they cleaned it up a little as well as adding a section at the very end on 2/1. On Half.com , after shipping costs (US) the 1st edition comes out to just over $4 and the 2nd edition just under $7. I recommend the 2nd one only because of the improvements and the 2/1, but both are witty and insightful, and they help you learn.