BBO Discussion Forums: How can GIB be possibly taken seriously... - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How can GIB be possibly taken seriously... Yet another WTF Moments from GIB

#1 User is offline   MightyMoe 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2012-August-21, 10:05

Really. How can the ACBL offer Masterpoints when GIB is involved and this kind of thing happens?

The standard excuse of "It is just like a human partner making a mistake at the table.", doesn't cut it. Not even the worst LOL partner would come up with a stupid bid like this.

I also now how hard it is to program artificial intelligence systems -- I do so for a living.

This is atrocious.

#2 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-August-21, 11:29

MightyMoe, on 2012-August-21, 10:05, said:

The standard excuse of "It is just like a human partner making a mistake at the table.", doesn't cut it. Not even the worst LOL partner would come up with a stupid bid like this.

I don't know about that. I've seen plenty of nutty bids from humans in my life. Maybe they are unlikely to make *this* particular bid, but they can certainly come up with laughers if you examine the travelers closely.

I think it's just a bit more jarring coming from GIB since its baseline bidding level on most hands is quite a bit better. One expects weirdness in the bidding when playing with a human beginner. But playing with an advanced partner, it's jarring when they do something unexpectedly bad.