BBO Discussion Forums: What Is The Point Of Strong 2's - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +

What Is The Point Of Strong 2's

#1 User is offline   eagles123 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Crystal Palace

Posted 2013-March-01, 18:32

Ok, so I will start by saying this is a genuine enquiry, not a point scoring exercise.

I am mostly self taught, I have a very very long way to go but I've learnt a lot from both playing and observing BBO hands. The one thing I don't get is strong 2's. I play in the ACOL club and whilst a lot play weak 2's, an awful lot play strong. The disadvantages I see of strong 2's:

- un-necessarily pre-emptive
- can make new players over estimate their own hand
- more likely to be pre-empted against with jump raises
- very easy to find games/slams without strong 2's for example with reverses

This is not meant to be a rant against strong 2's, far from it, but I would like to know a) why they are taught and b) do they have any merit.
"definitely that's what I like to play when I'm playing standard - I want to be able to bid diamonds because bidding good suits is important in bridge" - Meckstroth's opinion on weak 2 diamond

#2 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2013-March-01, 19:04

They are taught mostly out of tradition. Old people who grew up playing strong twos and are still playing them end up teaching newer players and they teach what they know. Plus in late 90s when the EBU published their "standard English" system they chose strong twos for whatever reason. Apparently strong two is more alive in UK playing Acol; they are dead in the duplicate community in the U.S.A, alive only in rubber-bridge playing senior centers.