BBO Discussion Forums: Inconsistencies in the SAYC Booklet - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1

Inconsistencies in the SAYC Booklet

#1 User is offline   plum_tree 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2013-June-23, 04:06

As a novice I was given SAYC to learn, but some of the notes in this booklet appear to be inconsistent (to me anyway).
Quote 1:
Other responses to 1NT:
1NT — 3, 3 = a six-card or longer suit and invitational to 3NT.
1NT — 3, 3 = at least a six-card suit and slam interest (otherwise, responder uses a transfer bid).
Quote 2:
2 is “non-forcing” Stayman, meaning that the bidding may stop in two of a suit. Opener rebids 2 with 4–4 in the majors. If responder rebids three of either minor, he shows slam interest and at least a five-card suit.
Quote 3:
A 2 response requires the 1NT bidder to rebid 3, which may be passed with a club bust, or responder may rebid 3 with a diamond bust.
Example::
1NT — 2
3 — Pass = club bust
— 3 = diamond bust (notrump opener passes).

Starting with quote 1: Why can’t all 3 level responses to 1NT show a six-card suit and slam interest in the suit? It makes things easier for a novice to remember! In a different thread Antrax suggested a 3NT continuation by opener discourages the slam try. Anything else is encouraging.

On to quote 2:
SAYC puts minor suit slam tries through 2 Stayman. If the suggestion in quote 1 is adopted, 3m by responder now becomes the invitational bid to 3NT. Even for a novice this makes more sense.

On to quote 3:
I don’t have any issue with this. It was just included for comparison purposes against quotes 1 and 2.

Can someone shed more light on this? Or was insufficient thought put into the SAYC booklet? :unsure:

(Hey, maybe I am advancing from novice to beginner) :)

#2 User is online   hrothgar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Travel
    Cooking
    Brewing
    Hiking

Posted 2013-June-23, 05:48

View Postplum_tree, on 2013-June-23, 04:06, said: