Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Director responses What should we expect from directors

#1 User is offline   papasmok1 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2020-September-11, 03:18

I only started playing on BBO in the March lockdown.
On several occasions my partner or I have called for the director.
Reasons have varied from slow play; chat in foreign language during the play with English having been declared as the only language; advice during between opponents.
The director arrives at the table but we hear nothing from them.
The only time I received an immediate response was to tell me they would have done better to not increase the limit on the tournament to let me in.
Yesterday I asked the director if an opening bid of 1d with a void was legal and have heard nothing.
Several directors state that there is zero tolerance for rudeness but no action seems to come from reporting this.

#2 User is online   mycroft 

• Secretary Bird
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2020-September-11, 08:37

No hablamos inglés. ¡Español solamente, por favor!

Why do you think you (and not the opponents) have the right to set the language? In an ACBL tournament, okay (but don't expect the TDs to enforce that "rule" in Montréal (whenever they get their NABC back) or Puerto Vallarta). Online? Especially not in a game run by the BBO ACBL club? Also, please note that you have a tool you wouldn't have IRL: Google Translate. If it's "Bridge Spanish" (maybe less so "Bridge Mandarin"), you should be able to understand it straight up, if it's less bridge, GT will.

In general:

It all depends on the game that's being run. (that applies to "English only" as well. If it's a rule of the event, then it should be enforced. If it's not stated, then we're back to "catering to you".)