BBO Discussion Forums: Bug: login screen shows password - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bug: login screen shows password

#1 User is offline   bbstar 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 2014-December-14

Posted 2021-January-16, 03:55

1. Go to www.bridgebase.com login screen
2. Enter username
3. Press "Tab"
4. Enter password
5. Press "Enter"

Expected: successful login
Actual: password is made visible. And then successful login

I really hate that my password is visible. This should never happen to me.
0

#2 User is offline   pilowsky 

  • pilowsky
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,208
  • Joined: 2019-October-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Interests:Writing, Learning, History, Politics

Posted 2021-January-16, 04:11

View Postbbstar, on 2021-January-16, 03:55, said:

1. Go to www.bridgebase.com login screen
2. Enter username
3. Press "Tab"
4. Enter password
5. Press "Enter"

Expected: successful login
Actual: password is made visible. And then successful login

I really hate that my password is visible. This should never happen to me.


See the little symbol in the password box that looks like an eye?
Click on that.
Your password will be visible or invisible - up to you.
non est deus ex machina; även maskiner behöver lite kärlek, J'ai toujours misé sur l'étrange gentillesse des robots.
0

#3 User is offline   bbstar 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 2014-December-14

Posted 2021-January-16, 04:42

View Postpilowsky, on 2021-January-16, 04:11, said:

See the little symbol in the password box that looks like an eye?
Click on that.
Your password will be visible or invisible - up to you.


I don't click anywhere. I press enter. This makes my password visible AND does the login.
For full reproduction see my original post.
0

#4 User is online   sfi 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,073
  • Joined: 2009-May-18
  • Location:Oz

Posted 2021-January-16, 07:48

I see the same thing, but only when I press enter. Clicking the login button doesn't do that.

You're right - the interface really should not be doing this.
0

#5 User is offline   pilowsky 

  • pilowsky
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,208
  • Joined: 2019-October-04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Interests:Writing, Learning, History, Politics

Posted 2021-January-16, 14:11

Well, it works for me.
Still no problem here - edit 21 May 21


non est deus ex machina; även maskiner behöver lite kärlek, J'ai toujours misé sur l'étrange gentillesse des robots.
0

#6 User is offline   diana_eva 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 4,646
  • Joined: 2009-July-26
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:bucharest / romania

Posted 2021-January-16, 14:56

Thank you for the bug report. Enter key exposing password was not intentional behaviour. We've reported it to the programmers.

#7 User is offline   bbstar 

  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 2014-December-14

Posted 2021-February-11, 04:27

View Postdiana_eva, on 2021-January-16, 14:56, said:

Thank you for the bug report. Enter key exposing password was not intentional behaviour. We've reported it to the programmers.


There was a workaround:
1. Use Developer Tools (F12)
2. Select the "Eye" element from html
3. Delete it.

But with a new release page is refreshed after logout, and the element is reloaded again.

Hack-hack-hack. Why do we need a reload after logout?

It seems we need some adblock rule to disable unwanted buttons on the login screen.
0

#8 User is online   smerriman 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,164
  • Joined: 2014-March-15
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2021-May-20, 19:04

View Postdiana_eva, on 2021-January-16, 14:56, said:

Thank you for the bug report. Enter key exposing password was not intentional behaviour. We've reported it to the programmers.

Did you hear back from them? It's still showing my password on hitting enter.
0

#9 User is offline   diana_eva 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 4,646
  • Joined: 2009-July-26
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:bucharest / romania

Posted 2021-May-21, 16:19

View Postsmerriman, on 2021-May-20, 19:04, said:

Did you hear back from them? It's still showing my password on hitting enter.


Yes, this will be fixed in the next upgrade.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users