sanst, on 2025-March-24, 09:07, said:
Maybe, but the Laws don't give the TD the authority to wake players up. I've no idea what N thought at the time or didn't know that this 4NT was alertable but any action may wake him or her and south.
Could you please point me to the Laws that forbid the TD to remind North of the national Alert Policy after he initially fails to alert?
I assure you there are no Regulations that forbid North to now Alert South's call before West's call, if he realises he should.
The TD explaining the Alert regulations to North is not "waking players up", except to the rules (and in time to avoid damage).
He does not know, nor ask, nor care what the actual agreement is, only that it can still be alerted if it should be.
Nor would this wake West up to anything, West was fully aware of the legal predicament and already explained it to the TD away from the table.
sanst, on 2025-March-24, 09:07, said:
I think the best action for W is to put a call, which might also be pass, on the table and call the director if N bids and it's clear that it's an answer to 4NT.
I think the best action for W is to put in 5♥ without worrying about the tiny chance that the probability of North really expecting a quantitative bid is superior to that of Director getting things right

But he is a promising beginner and he felt obliged to learn the rules before playing, I would do anything but snuff that candle.
If he did put in Pass and then call the Director when North bids 5♣ then that is equivalent to what actually happened and he would be equally unhappy, I think with due cause.
sanst, on 2025-March-24, 09:07, said:
What would W have done if the 4 NT had hit the table in the second round:
1♦ - (1♥) - 2♣ - (4♥);
p - (p) - 4NT - ?
Is it to play, in which case you pass, or asking for aces in which case you probably bid 5♥? No alert allowed but now you have to ask and are not protected by the non-alert.
1♦ - (1♥) - 2♣ - (4♥);
p - (p) - 4NT - ?
Is it to play, in which case you pass, or asking for aces in which case you probably bid 5♥? No alert allowed but now you have to ask and are not protected by the non-alert.
I don't think it is reasonable to put a promising beginner up to a difficult auction that did not happen when he had (if opponents followed the rules) an easy one (given his slightly aggressive partner).
But I do suspect he would have got this right, or at least done better than his opponents (who made an unlikely underbid of 2♣).
You ask the opponents an innocent "all natural up to here?" and if the response is yes then you pass serenely, if not you call the Director and then ask for an explanation of all calls. That might wake South up to whether North has the ♦K and North up to that South does not want diamonds, but it looks like they misbid anyway and the Director is there if not.
This is a quite different scenario from the actual one, where NS knew what they were doing (except perhaps in Ace asking, but South would have bid the slam in any case) but were missing a complexity of the national rules.