BBO Discussion Forums: Year End Congress 2 - BBO Discussion Forums

Jump to content

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Year End Congress 2 EBU Swiss Pairs

#21 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2010-December-30, 08:14

View Postmjj29, on 2010-December-28, 16:35, said:

Not my ruling this time, but interesting.
Result: 11 tricks, Spade lead
The 3S was initially not alerted. At East's turn to call he asked about 3S, was told it was "Natural and preemptive" (which, the eagle-eyed among you will note, is alertable in the EBU. It was meant as a splinter) and then passed. The auction continued to 5H doubled, which on the lead of a spade (to the hand that asked about 3S) rather than the normal club made 11 tricks. East/West then called the director to point out the possible unauthorised information from the explanation.
I'll post the ruling that was eventually reached later.

View Postbluejak, on 2010-December-29, 10:47, said:

East has asked about 3 when it was not alerted, which provides UI to West. West has ignored a suit headed by QJT to lead a suit of Jxx which is the clearest use of UI I have come across in a long time. Of course, we are not going to adjust on the basis of a club lead for N/S since the club lead is better for E/W so no damage. But the lead by West is such a dreadful one that i think we must consider a PP for West to teach him a lesson [or an explanation of UI principles if we consider West inexperienced].

View Postjallerton, on 2010-December-29, 11:09, said:

Is West's lead a clearer use of UI than North's 5 bid?
Agree with jallerton. East-West are again victims of a legal double-whammy :( :(

Presumably the only legal meaning for North's unalerted 3 is "strong and natural". East has reason to doubt this. Commentators in these fora often admonish players for failure to protect themselves. When players protest "The inevitable UI may handicap partner", legal-experts reassure them that directors will be understanding about such law-induced damage. East masochistically complies with the rules. Here again, however, the result is a lose-lose situation for the victims :(

West has over-called on a four-count so defensive prospects are bleak. Ostensibly, North has a long spade suit and South has a natural raise. A likely reason for East's double of 5 is that he is ruffing spades. On the face of it, that is the best hope for the defence. UI from partner's question may cause West to distrust opponents' explanations but he is hamstrung by SEWOG legislation: A director may judge a non-spade lead to be wild and gambling :(
0

#22 User is offline   paulg 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 5,157
  • Joined: 2003-April-26
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottish Borders

Posted 2010-December-30, 09:38

View Postnige1, on 2010-December-30, 08:14, said:

Agree with jallerton. East-West are again victims of a legal double-whammy :( :(

Presumably the only legal meaning for North's unalerted 3 is "strong and natural". East has reason to doubt this. Commentators in these fora often admonish players for failure to protect themselves. When players protest "The inevitable UI may handicap partner", legal-experts reassure them that directors will be understanding about such law-induced damage. East masochistically complies with the rules. Here again, however, the result is a lose-lose situation for the victims :(

West has over-called on a four-count so defensive prospects are bleak. Ostensibly, North has a long spade suit and South has a natural raise. A likely reason for East's double of 5 is that he is ruffing spades. On the face of it, that is the best hope for the defence. UI from partner's question may cause West to distrust opponents' explanations but he is hamstrung by SEWOG legislation: A director may judge a non-spade lead to be wild and gambling :(

I think your argument would be stronger if you avoided the SEWOG in the final element and focused on the constraints that the UI has created. Without partner's question, you may well lead a spade based on your argument (certainly hard to see that a club will work when partner has not raised) and they have a double fit. Indeed many play that a free double asks for dummy's first bid suit.

The UI tells you that the North hand is probably a splinter. Surely a spade lead can only set up a trick for the offence now and, therefore, leading a spade is carefully not taking advantage.
The Beer Card

I don't work for BBO and any advice is based on my BBO experience over the decades
1

#23 User is offline   jallerton 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,796
  • Joined: 2008-September-12
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2010-December-30, 09:50

View PostStevenG, on 2010-December-29, 12:11, said:

I really cannot see how the UI demonstrably suggests a lead. On the bidding, East must be short in the suit.


The AI suggests that a spade lead is a bad idea. If one were allowed to take into account the UI (that partner potentially has length and strength in spades) in addition to the AI, a spade lead would still a bad idea.

However, the worry exists that West's line of thinking was simply "I'm leading partner's suit" without stopping to think whether leading "partner's suit" mIght be a good idea, let alone whether it might actually not be legal to conclude that partner's suit was spades. This means that the spade lead would appear to be a breach of Law 73C, even if it can be argued that Law 16A does not apply.

By the way, I don't think that West's lead should be considered a "serious error" akin to a revoke, because revokes are (usually) accidental infractions. Here the apparent "use of UI" is quite deliberate. I'd far rather call the deliberate decision to make a lead "wild" and/or "gambling" and to split the score on that basis.
1

#24 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2010-December-30, 09:52

View Postpaulg, on 2010-December-30, 09:38, said:

I think your argument would be stronger if you avoided the SEWOG in the final element and focused on the constraints that the UI has created. Without partner's question, you may well lead a spade based on your argument (certainly hard to see that a club will work when partner has not raised) and they have a double fit. Indeed many play that a free double asks for dummy's first bid suit. The UI tells you that the North hand is probably a splinter. Surely a spade lead can only set up a trick for the offence now and, therefore, leading a spade is carefully not taking advantage.
Good point Paul and I agree,
0

#25 User is offline   FrancesHinden 

  • Limit bidder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 8,482
  • Joined: 2004-November-02
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Bridge, classical music, skiing... but I spend more time earning a living than doing any of those

Posted 2010-December-30, 10:35

View Postnige1, on 2010-December-30, 08:14, said:

Agree with jallerton. East-West are again victims of a legal double-whammy :( :(

Presumably the only legal meaning for North's unalerted 3 is "strong and natural". East has reason to doubt this. Commentators in these fora often admonish players for failure to protect themselves. When players protest "The inevitable UI may handicap partner", legal-experts reassure them that directors will be understanding about such law-induced damage. East masochistically complies with the rules. Here again, however, the result is a lose-lose situation for the victims :(

West has over-called on a four-count so defensive prospects are bleak. Ostensibly, North has a long spade suit and South has a natural raise. A likely reason for East's double of 5 is that he is ruffing spades. On the face of it, that is the best hope for the defence. UI from partner's question may cause West to distrust opponents' explanations but he is hamstrung by SEWOG legislation: A director may judge a non-spade lead to be wild and gambling :(


I disagree with nearly all of this.
The auction as it stands makes no sense, and in any case North will have corrected the lack-of-alert of 3S before the opening lead, so West does in fact have AI that dummy has short spades, declarer has spade length and partner has spade stuff.
As has already been pointed out, a spade lead is a poor idea either way (when I was given this as a lead problem I couldn't decide between the minor suits). That's why there is so much enthusiasm for penalising West for his lead, because it smells strongly of "I know partner has spades from the question so I'm going to lead one rather than think about the auction".

West may have had good arguments for leading a spade, but we haven't been told what they were.

And in any case, East hasn't "masochistically" obeyed any rules. He doesn't want a spade lead. He wants a club lead.
0

#26 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2010-December-30, 10:37

View Postjallerton, on 2010-December-30, 09:50, said:

The AI suggests that a spade lead is a bad idea. If one were allowed to take into account the UI (that partner potentially has length and strength in spades) in addition to the AI, a spade lead would still a bad idea.

However, the worry exists that West's line of thinking was simply "I'm leading partner's suit" without stopping to think whether leading "partner's suit" mIght be a good idea, let alone whether it might actually not be legal to conclude that partner's suit was spades. This means that the spade lead would appear to be a breach of Law 73C, even if it can be argued that Law 16A does not apply.

By the way, I don't think that West's lead should be considered a "serious error" akin to a revoke, because revokes are (usually) accidental infractions. Here the apparent "use of UI" is quite deliberate. I'd far rather call the deliberate decision to make a lead "wild" and/or "gambling" and to split the score on that basis.
IMO, from West's point of view
  • AI from the bidding and opponents' explanations is that opponents have a -fit. Hence, from AI and your holding, you judge that partner may be able to ruff a lead.
  • UI from partner's question is that LHO has misbid or psyched with a shortage and RHO holds over partner. Thus, UI suggests that a lead is a bad idea,
  • It seems harsh to assume that West led a because he is stupid rather than ethical.

0

#27 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2010-December-30, 11:09

View PostFrancesHinden, on 2010-December-30, 10:35, said:

I disagree with nearly all of this. The auction as it stands makes no sense, and in any case North will have corrected the lack-of-alert of 3S before the opening lead, so West does in fact have AI that dummy has short spades, declarer has spade length and partner has spade stuff.
mjj29 tells us that North misbid and that South's explanation "natural, pre-emptive" is the true partnership agreement. North is not obliged to reveal his actual holding, nor did he, according to the original post,

East's unfortunate question compromises West with UI, hinting that dummy has short spades.
0

#28 User is offline   Trinidad 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,531
  • Joined: 2005-October-09
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 2010-December-30, 11:51

View PostFrancesHinden, on 2010-December-30, 10:35, said:

I disagree with nearly all of this.
The auction as it stands makes no sense, and in any case North will have corrected the lack-of-alert of 3S before the opening lead, so West does in fact have AI that dummy has short spades, declarer has spade length and partner has spade stuff.

Those were going to be my first question:
Who called the TD?
When?
Did North correct South's explanation without a TD present (technically an infraction, but I will let that one slip)?

Can someone give us the facts?

Rik
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg
0

#29 User is offline   jallerton 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 1,796
  • Joined: 2008-September-12
  • Gender:Male

Posted 2010-December-30, 11:52

View Postnige1, on 2010-December-30, 10:37, said:

IMO, from West's point of view
  • AI from the bidding and opponents' explanations is that opponents have a -fit. Hence, from AI and your holding, you judge that partner may be able to ruff a lead.
  • UI from partner's question is that LHO has misbid or psyched with a shortage and RHO holds over partner. Thus, UI suggests that a lead is a bad idea,
  • It seems harsh to assume that West led a because he is stupid rather than ethical.



Nigel, you seem to have overlooked the point that if North had a pre-emptive jump shift response in spades, he would definitely have passed the raise to 4. Therefore, West can eliminate that hand type from the North hand. There is no logical layout consistent with this auction where partner has a spade void. In any case, although mjj29 does not seem to know the full facts of the case, North should have corrected the explanation before the opening lead was made. If North did not correct the explanation, then the TD has yet another infraction to consider!
0

#30 User is offline   Trinidad 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,531
  • Joined: 2005-October-09
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 2010-December-30, 12:20

View Postnige1, on 2010-December-30, 08:14, said:

Agree with jallerton. East-West are again victims of a legal double-whammy :( :(

Presumably the only legal meaning for North's unalerted 3 is "strong and natural". East has reason to doubt this. Commentators in these fora often admonish players for failure to protect themselves. When players protest "The inevitable UI may handicap partner", legal-experts reassure them that directors will be understanding about such law-induced damage. East masochistically complies with the rules. Here again, however, the result is a lose-lose situation for the victims :(

I fully agree. East has every reason to ask about the 3 bid. We can be fairly sure that he would have doubled 3, suggesting a spade save, if the explanation had been "splinter". He protected himself from the opponents' irregularity, heard from South that there was no irregularity (when there actually was one, making that he second irregularity) and couldn't do much else but pass.

The consequence of this "protecting yourself" was that West had UI. This UI was the result of not one, but two irregularities by South and the fact that "we" force East to "protect himself".

And the final result is, as ever, that everyone is jumping on EW. The TDs are not living up to the promiss to East: "If you protect yourself, we will protect you." That is not surprising since TDs hardly ever protect "self protectors" when it comes to it.

See how much easier this case would have been if we didn't require East to "protect himself". He could have safely assumed that 3 promised spades. He would have passed. NS would have screwed up the auction, using the same UI, and landed in the same 5X. Then, North would have called the TD. The TD would have given EW the correct information about the agreements and tell EW to call him back if they want to.

We don't know what West would have lead without UI. Let's assume he would lead a spade1. The contract makes. East calls the TD and tells him that he would have doubled 3 with the correct information. West would have bid 4 and NS probably would not have gone on to 5 (with EW bidding the suit that North supposedly had). The TD could give EW 9 tricks in 4 as an AS or decide on a weighted score depending how likely he thinks it would be for NS to compete to 5 or to double.

This example is like so many others. "Self protecting" leads to a mess because TDs do not protect the "self protectors" when they should. Let's get rid of the whole "self protecting" right now and let the missinformers just pay for their irregularities, in accordance with the Laws. Because, as it is now, "self protecting" is in fact "missinformer protecting" and "selfinflicting".

Rik

1If he would lead a club, the TD wouldn't need to be called again.
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg
0

#31 User is offline   nige1 

  • 5-level belongs to me
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 9,128
  • Joined: 2004-August-30
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glasgow Scotland
  • Interests:Poems Computers

Posted 2010-December-30, 13:47

View Postjallerton, on 2010-December-30, 11:52, said:

Nigel, you seem to have overlooked the point that if North had a pre-emptive jump shift response in spades, he would definitely have passed the raise to 4. Therefore, West can eliminate that hand type from the North hand. There is no logical layout consistent with this auction where partner has a spade void. In any case, although mjj29 does not seem to know the full facts of the case, North should have corrected the explanation before the opening lead was made. If North did not correct the explanation, then the TD has yet another infraction to consider!
As BBOers, we can comment only on the basis of given facts:
AI from the auction may well cause West to suspect that opponents have misbid or misexplained.
Partner's ill-fated question converts suspicion to certainty.
It also indicates the nature of opponents' mistake.
It makes it likely that LHO intended a splinter (rather than a fit-jump or strong jump-shift, say).
This UI demonstrably suggests a non-spade lead over a spade lead.
What should an ethical West lead?
0

#32 User is offline   mfa1010 

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members
  • Posts: 796
  • Joined: 2010-October-21
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 2010-December-30, 15:01

View PostTrinidad, on 2010-December-30, 12:20, said:

And the final result is, as ever, that everyone is jumping on EW. The TDs are not living up to the promiss to East: "If you protect yourself, we will protect you." That is not surprising since TDs hardly ever protect "self protectors" when it comes to it.
(...)
This example is like so many others. "Self protecting" leads to a mess because TDs do not protect the "self protectors" when they should.

The TD should not protect them when the do abuse UI (nigel questions if they did, but that is a different discussion).

Here if just west doesn't abuse UI, then they would get all the protection they need.

The drawback of having to protect oneself is when we ask about a bid that turns out to be natural (which is not the case here).

Therefore the principle of protecting oneself can only be applicable when there is a very strong reason to suspect something fishy. Either with a missing alert or when somebody says something that clearly sounds wrong.

Accordingly I don't think that east is required to protect himself in this case. He can't rule out a spade suit just because he has Kxxxxx. But I think the principle as such is indispensable to avoid players from acting 'unreasonable' (bluejacks word from the other thread) when they really know better. Say east had eight good spades. If he then didn't act (ask or bid) he would be on his own.
Michael Askgaard
0

#33 User is offline   bluejak 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,686
  • Joined: 2007-August-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2010-December-30, 15:05

View PostTrinidad, on 2010-December-30, 12:20, said:

I fully agree. East has every reason to ask about the 3 bid. We can be fairly sure that he would have doubled 3, suggesting a spade save, if the explanation had been "splinter". He protected himself from the opponents' irregularity, heard from South that there was no irregularity (when there actually was one, making that he second irregularity) and couldn't do much else but pass.

The consequence of this "protecting yourself" was that West had UI. This UI was the result of not one, but two irregularities by South and the fact that "we" force East to "protect himself".

And the final result is, as ever, that everyone is jumping on EW. The TDs are not living up to the promiss to East: "If you protect yourself, we will protect you." That is not surprising since TDs hardly ever protect "self protectors" when it comes to it.

See how much easier this case would have been if we didn't require East to "protect himself". He could have safely assumed that 3 promised spades. He would have passed. NS would have screwed up the auction, using the same UI, and landed in the same 5X. Then, North would have called the TD. The TD would have given EW the correct information about the agreements and tell EW to call him back if they want to.

We don't know what West would have lead without UI. Let's assume he would lead a spade1. The contract makes. East calls the TD and tells him that he would have doubled 3 with the correct information. West would have bid 4 and NS probably would not have gone on to 5 (with EW bidding the suit that North supposedly had). The TD could give EW 9 tricks in 4 as an AS or decide on a weighted score depending how likely he thinks it would be for NS to compete to 5 or to double.

This example is like so many others. "Self protecting" leads to a mess because TDs do not protect the "self protectors" when they should. Let's get rid of the whole "self protecting" right now and let the missinformers just pay for their irregularities, in accordance with the Laws. Because, as it is now, "self protecting" is in fact "missinformer protecting" and "selfinflicting".

Rik

1If he would lead a club, the TD wouldn't need to be called again.

Whether West's lead was a good idea or not, there is little doubt that it was based on UI. The reason that I jumped on E/W, as you put it, is because West clearly did not follow the Laws.

Now, suppose he had followed the Laws, and not led a spade. Then we would have made any decisions based on whether E/W were damaged by the MI, and whether there was MI, and on nothing else.

There is no attempt to rule against people who try and protect themselves, but there will always be doubt when a player does not follow the Laws. You have the wrong reason for lack of sympathy to E/W: it is nothing to do with protecting himself or otherwise, it is to do with his partner following the Laws.
David Stevenson

Merseyside England UK
EBL TD
Currently at home
Visiting IBLF from time to time
<webjak666@gmail.com>
0

#34 User is offline   Trinidad 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,531
  • Joined: 2005-October-09
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 2011-January-01, 12:44

View Postbluejak, on 2010-December-30, 15:05, said:

Quote

I fully agree. East has every reason to ask about the 3♠ bid. We can be fairly sure that he would have doubled 3♠, suggesting a spade save, if the explanation had been "splinter". He protected himself from the opponents' irregularity, heard from South that there was no irregularity (when there actually was one, making that he second irregularity) and couldn't do much else but pass.

The consequence of this "protecting yourself" was that West had UI. This UI was the result of not one, but two irregularities by South and the fact that "we" force East to "protect himself".

And the final result is, as ever, that everyone is jumping on EW. The TDs are not living up to the promiss to East: "If you protect yourself, we will protect you." That is not surprising since TDs hardly ever protect "self protectors" when it comes to it.

See how much easier this case would have been if we didn't require East to "protect himself". He could have safely assumed that 3♠ promised spades. He would have passed. NS would have screwed up the auction, using the same UI, and landed in the same 5♥X. Then, North would have called the TD. The TD would have given EW the correct information about the agreements and tell EW to call him back if they want to.

We don't know what West would have lead without UI. Let's assume he would lead a spade1. The contract makes. East calls the TD and tells him that he would have doubled 3♠ with the correct information. West would have bid 4♠ and NS probably would not have gone on to 5♥ (with EW bidding the suit that North supposedly had). The TD could give EW 9 tricks in 4♠ as an AS or decide on a weighted score depending how likely he thinks it would be for NS to compete to 5♥ or to double.

This example is like so many others. "Self protecting" leads to a mess because TDs do not protect the "self protectors" when they should. Let's get rid of the whole "self protecting" right now and let the missinformers just pay for their irregularities, in accordance with the Laws. Because, as it is now, "self protecting" is in fact "missinformer protecting" and "selfinflicting".

Rik

1If he would lead a club, the TD wouldn't need to be called again.

Whether West's lead was a good idea or not, there is little doubt that it was based on UI. The reason that I jumped on E/W, as you put it, is because West clearly did not follow the Laws.

Now, suppose that NS would not have broken the Laws: South would have alerted 3 and explained as a splinter. West leads a spade. Would you have any reason to jump on EW?

No, none whatsoever.

You may think that West broke the Laws by leading a spade, since the lead was suggested by UI. I agree with that (but see below1), that is not the issue. The point is that the whole case would have been avoided if only NS would have followed the Laws. Because NS didn't follow the Laws (on at least two occasions!), EW are limited in their actions (unless they like being jumped on by TDs).

Quote

Now, suppose he had followed the Laws, and not led a spade. Then we would have made any decisions based on whether E/W were damaged by the MI, and whether there was MI, and on nothing else.

There is no attempt to rule against people who try and protect themselves, but there will always be doubt when a player does not follow the Laws. You have the wrong reason for lack of sympathy to E/W: it is nothing to do with protecting himself or otherwise, it is to do with his partner following the Laws.

That would be really, really bad: "an attempt to rule against people who try and protect themselves". It is very reassuring that at least you are not actively trying to rule against "self protectors". I assume that you didn't mean what you implied, but it illustrates the general attitude towards "self protectors". "Not attempting to rule against "self-protectors"" is clearly insufficient when you are supposed to protect "self-protectors".

The point is that "self protecting" puts you in the same position as a BIT. This is a position that good players try to avoid, since it comes with a lot of strings.

Getting in a BIT position is something that you usually can avoid. You get in a BIT position through your own poor timing. You can often get out of it by taking the active action (bidding rather than passing).
You get in a self protecting position because and only because regulators put you there in an effort to protect the guilty. There is usually no way out, since if the opponents did everything according to the rules, you will not be able to make a call other than pass. (See this example where East did protect and South claimed that there was no reason to alert since 3 promissed a genuine suit. Now East could not do anything but pass.)

If NS would have followed the rules, West would not even have been in a position to break the Laws.

Rik

1 I didn't get an answer to my questions regarding to who called the TD when and what was explained when. If the misinformation was not corrected before the opening lead, the spade lead stands out as an attempt to give partner a ruff. In that case the spade lead wouldn't even be close to an irregularity.
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg
0

#35 User is offline   bluejak 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,686
  • Joined: 2007-August-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2011-January-01, 13:10

View PostTrinidad, on 2011-January-01, 12:44, said:

You get in a self protecting position because and only because regulators put you there in an effort to protect the guilty.

This is completely baseless and does not follow from anything you have said. There are UI Laws, and if you do not follow them you have not followed the Law. That applies whatever causes the UI, whether bad luck, bad timing, involuntary exclamations, poor regulations, unfortunate consequences of good or bad regulations, and so forth. The suggestion that a person is in such a position because the regulators try to protect the guilty is just ridiculous.
David Stevenson

Merseyside England UK
EBL TD
Currently at home
Visiting IBLF from time to time
<webjak666@gmail.com>
0

#36 User is offline   Trinidad 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,531
  • Joined: 2005-October-09
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 2011-January-02, 12:17

View Postbluejak, on 2011-January-01, 13:10, said:

Quote

You get in a self protecting position because and only because regulators put you there in an effort to protect the guilty.

This is completely baseless and does not follow from anything you have said. There are UI Laws, and if you do not follow them you have not followed the Law. That applies whatever causes the UI, whether bad luck, bad timing, involuntary exclamations, poor regulations, unfortunate consequences of good or bad regulations, and so forth. The suggestion that a person is in such a position because the regulators try to protect the guilty is just ridiculous.


Do you understand at all what the self protecting requirement leads to and what I am talking about? I don't think so.

Suppose you have a nice spade suit and you hear the bidding start on your left: 1-Pass-3-??

The bid has not been alerted. Opponents bid to a heart contract (whether game or slam hardly matters) and before the opening lead the intended dummy says that 3 should have been alerted. You call the TD. He says play the board, call me back if necessary. The opponents make their heart contract, but it turns out you had a nice save in spades. You call the TD back and say that you would have doubled 3 to suggest a save. The ruling: "Well, everybody plays splinters, and you're experienced enough, so you should know that this was most likely a splinter. The regulations say that you have to protect yourself by asking. Result stands."

Next round. Miraculously, you hold a nice spade suit and the auction starts at your left: 1-Pass-3-??. Again, no alert. You have learnt, though, and you ask what it means. The opener tells you, slightly irritated: "A hand with a good spade suit, of course. Did you see any alert?". How the auction continues is irrelevant. Your partner has UI that suggests you have something in spades. And partner is limited in his options.

Why is partner limited in his options? Not because of any irregularity by your side. And also not because of any irregularity by the opponents. He is limited because of the irregularity at the other table. Just because this irregularity (sloppy alerting of "obviously alertable" bids) happens so often, regulators have thought that it would be a good idea to protect those sloppy alerters (which I call "the guilty") from Secretary Birds. But, as a result, they forced the NOP to protect themselves, which leaves the NOP at a considerable disadvantage when it was actually correct to not alert the bid.

I hope that this makes my statement pretty clear.

Quote

You get in a self protecting position (at a table) because and only because regulators put you there in an effort to protect the guilty (the sloppy alerters at an other table).


Rik

P.S. The actual case was even worse. There was no alert (1). East protected himself against potential MI. South claimed the bid was natural (2). That brought EW in the "self protecting UI situation". Then North used the UI from South's explanation by bidding 5, rather than taking 4 as showing the A and following up with the obvious 4NT bid (3). And then, on top of that, it becomes clear that 3 actually did require an alert and was explained wrong.

Now, west led a spade. And now, after at least (we still don't have any info about who corrected what when) three irregularities by NS (2x MI and 1 x use of UI) you are jumping on West's spade lead because it was based on UI. The UI that West wouldn't have had if either NS would have followed the rules or the regulators would not have forced East to protect himself.
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg
1

#37 User is offline   campboy 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 2,347
  • Joined: 2009-July-21

Posted 2011-January-02, 12:34

Before criticising the regulation we should perhaps read it.

Orange Book 3A3 said:

It is expected that experienced players will protect themselves in obvious misinformation cases. If such players receive an explanation which is implausible, and they are able to protect themselves by seeking further clarification without putting their side’s interests at risk (eg by transmitting unauthorised information or waking the opposition up), failure to do so may prejudice the redress to which they would otherwise be entitled.

So in situations like the one you describe, where "protecting yourself" might damage you by giving UI to partner, you are not expected to do it. No problem.
0

#38 User is offline   bluejak 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,686
  • Joined: 2007-August-23
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool, UK
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2011-January-02, 14:49

View PostTrinidad, on 2011-January-02, 12:17, said:

Do you understand at all what the self protecting requirement leads to and what I am talking about? I don't think so.

Suppose you have a nice spade suit and you hear the bidding start on your left: 1-Pass-3-??

The bid has not been alerted. Opponents bid to a heart contract (whether game or slam hardly matters) and before the opening lead the intended dummy says that 3 should have been alerted. You call the TD. He says play the board, call me back if necessary. The opponents make their heart contract, but it turns out you had a nice save in spades. You call the TD back and say that you would have doubled 3 to suggest a save. The ruling: "Well, everybody plays splinters, and you're experienced enough, so you should know that this was most likely a splinter. The regulations say that you have to protect yourself by asking. Result stands."

Next round. Miraculously, you hold a nice spade suit and the auction starts at your left: 1-Pass-3-??. Again, no alert. You have learnt, though, and you ask what it means. The opener tells you, slightly irritated: "A hand with a good spade suit, of course. Did you see any alert?". How the auction continues is irrelevant. Your partner has UI that suggests you have something in spades. And partner is limited in his options.

Why is partner limited in his options? Not because of any irregularity by your side. And also not because of any irregularity by the opponents. He is limited because of the irregularity at the other table. Just because this irregularity (sloppy alerting of "obviously alertable" bids) happens so often, regulators have thought that it would be a good idea to protect those sloppy alerters (which I call "the guilty") from Secretary Birds. But, as a result, they forced the NOP to protect themselves, which leaves the NOP at a considerable disadvantage when it was actually correct to not alert the bid.

I hope that this makes my statement pretty clear.

Certainly. And it shows how completely wrong it is. The regulators did not protect the guilty in any way. All they did was point out that the Law must be followed. If there is an infraction, but there is no damage caused by the infraction, then there is no adjustment. That is a matter of Law. So when a player is damaged by his own actions and not by the opponents' infraction there is no adjustment. That is a matter of Law. So the regulators have tried to clarify this for people. Your suggestion that they have written their clarifications with the intention of protecting guilty people is ridiculous and untrue.

View PostTrinidad, on 2011-January-02, 12:17, said:

P.S. The actual case was even worse. There was no alert (1). East protected himself against potential MI. South claimed the bid was natural (2). That brought EW in the "self protecting UI situation". Then North used the UI from South's explanation by bidding 5, rather than taking 4 as showing the A and following up with the obvious 4NT bid (3). And then, on top of that, it becomes clear that 3 actually did require an alert and was explained wrong.

Now, west led a spade. And now, after at least (we still don't have any info about who corrected what when) three irregularities by NS (2x MI and 1 x use of UI) you are jumping on West's spade lead because it was based on UI. The UI that West wouldn't have had if either NS would have followed the rules or the regulators would not have forced East to protect himself.

I am jumping on West's lead because it was illegal. I did not comment at that time about the N/S actions. If you think you have a right to break th Law because of opponents' actions you are naive. Suppose you are in a 30 mph speed limit area. A car passes you doing 70 mph. Do you think you have a right to break the Law and [say] speed up to 55 mph? Well, you do not. The Law applies to you, period. So whatever the regulators say or do, whatever N/S do, West has a requirement to follow the UI Laws.
David Stevenson

Merseyside England UK
EBL TD
Currently at home
Visiting IBLF from time to time
<webjak666@gmail.com>
0

#39 User is offline   Trinidad 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,531
  • Joined: 2005-October-09
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 2011-January-02, 15:26

View Postcampboy, on 2011-January-02, 12:34, said:

Before criticising the regulation we should perhaps read it.
Orange Book 3A3 said:

Quote

It is expected that experienced players will protect themselves in obvious misinformation cases. If such players receive an explanation which is implausible, and they are able to protect themselves by seeking further clarification without putting their side’s interests at risk (eg by transmitting unauthorised information or waking the opposition up), failure to do so may prejudice the redress to which they would otherwise be entitled.

So in situations like the one you describe, where "protecting yourself" might damage you by giving UI to partner, you are not expected to do it. No problem.

Thank you for the quote. However, this only makes the story slightly clearer.

I cannot come up with an example where I would not put my side's interests at risk. By definition, I will always give UI (unless we play with screens) and will always risk waking up opponents, unless I am in a position to pass out the hand to my advantage.

In other words, if you follow the regulation strictly, it clearly never applies. Nevertheless, it was written. That must mean that whoever wrote it thought that there must be situations where it applies, doesn't it? In other words, the regulators think that the non offending side should also protect himself when there is "a small risk" (let's call it "acceptable") that one puts their side's interests at risk.

Now, who decides whether this risk is acceptable? For sure it must be the player himself at first and after that the TD. If you hold: K97652 A8 87 A97 and hear the auction start: (1)-2-(3) without an alert, how high do you consider the odds that your RHO really has the non alertable meaning for his call (which, if I understood things correctly, in the EBU is: "Lots of spades and a strong hand")?

I would say that it is extremely likely that, after your question, LHO will apologise for forgetting to alert. He will explain it as a splinter and you will be doubling that. This will happen in over 99.99% of the cases. If any risk to put your own interest at risk would be "acceptable", this would be a sure case, wouldn't it? Therefore, East must protect himself in this case, otherwise the regulation should never have been written in the first place.

East does protect himself and gets screwed.

Conclusion: Not even this risk is acceptable, the regulation never applies. It should never have been written in the first place.

Rik
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg
2

#40 User is offline   Trinidad 

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Posts: 4,531
  • Joined: 2005-October-09
  • Location:Netherlands

Posted 2011-January-02, 15:45

View Postbluejak, on 2011-January-02, 14:49, said:

Certainly. And it shows how completely wrong it is. The regulators did not protect the guilty in any way.

Quote

It is expected that experienced players will protect themselves in obvious misinformation cases. (OB 3A3)

You do not consider that protecting misinformers ("the guilty")?

If you would not put that responsibility on the "experienced player", the misinformer would get to keep a bad result and, in case of a good result, he will see the TD at the table, his good score will be taken from him through an AS and he risks a PP.

When you do put that responsibility on the "experienced player", the misinformer walks.

Rik
I want my opponents to leave my table with a smile on their face and without matchpoints on their score card - in that order.
The most exciting phrase to hear in science, the one that heralds the new discoveries, is not “Eureka!” (I found it!), but “That’s funny…” – Isaac Asimov
The only reason God did not put "Thou shalt mind thine own business" in the Ten Commandments was that He thought that it was too obvious to need stating. - Kenberg
0

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users