BBO Discussion Forums: Responding to 1NT - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +

Responding to 1NT ACBL - SAYC

#21 User is offline   Vampyr 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-April-04, 17:54

View Postwyman, on 2012-April-04, 15:59, said:

(this was true after an opening 1-bid as well, I think, but you should defer to the LTPB software).

If not playing 1NT forcing, often the best choice is a 2-level bid in a 4-card suit.
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein

#22 User is offline   Vampyr 

Posted 2012-April-04, 18:13

HL, doubletons in both majors? Better not to confuse the issue for Lesh who is a complete newbie and may not have even had any lessons or played in a novice game yet. Anyway 5-4-2-2 never is appropriate for beginners; for more advanced players it is still "never-ish"; it is "not" done but maybe twice a year we come across one that "has to" be opened 1NT. And we don't play our partners for this distribution.
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones -- Albert Einstein

#23 User is offline   Stephen Tu 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-April-04, 18:17

View PostLesh18, on 2012-April-04, 16:59, said:

b) I have also been struggling with planning the play. The ACBL software teaches me to count winners in no-trump and losers in trump plays.

In the long run you probably should learn to count both winners & losers in all contracts, although the software recommendation is reasonable to start, if you have trouble counting both. After you get through the software tutorial, I strongly recommend getting Bill Root's book "How to declare a bridge hand".

I have no problem with counting winners, but I struggle with counting losers. Are all trump cards considered winners, and thus not losers in this sense? How do I actually count losers?