BBO Discussion Forums: Getting the best results with a bad partner - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Getting the best results with a bad partner

#21 User is offline   Fluffy 

• World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2012-September-14, 03:13

I have a lot of experience on this matter, and my best advice is: don't let him play a par contract if he is worse than the field (if you can avoid it, those 10 card major fit stink :( )

#22 User is offline   Zelandakh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2012-September-14, 05:07

View PostRunemPard, on 2012-September-14, 01:24, said:

Yes, my 3C bid may not have been my best option. But should I continue bidding? Possibly 3H was a better bid by me, that I may agree to, but I must say parding him often leaves me guessing more times than not. I rarely know what to expect any more.

I daresay the feeling is mutual! By bidding 3 here you were showing your partner a strong hand. How can he know what to expect from you if you make a strong bid with shrott? It is not much different from opening 2 with AJTx/QJxx/AQ/QJx. In the auction 1 - 1; 2, you have 2 emergency breaks with a weak hand - Pass and 2. 3 would show an invitational hand (as would 2NT and 3). So the best action over 2 would be to pass. If game makes then it is either unlucky or your partner underbid with 2.