BBO Discussion Forums: Fun but Crazy bidding - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Fun but Crazy bidding OK it's the end of the year so...

#1 User is offline   pilowsky 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-December-20, 16:30

For a few weeks, many months ago, (about 2 months after I started playing duplicate Bridge) I toyed with the idea of opening with a void or a singleton. Naturally, I was greeted with howls of derision. My 'system', was eventually banned from the Club because unlike splinters, short s, multi-2's precision and all the other rainbow sticker things it was far too outrageous.
Since then I have learned a lot about Bridge and how BBO works, so just for fun, I played 14 hands on solitaire this morning so that no actual humans would be offended :). Naturally, not everything went as planned but I only played hands with a singleton or void and redealt any that did not have that shape. After 14 hands, the Robots stopped letting me redeal :( at which point I had the following result:
1010,-300,990,130,-100,450,-600,420,420,1470,450,-200,650,480 giving a pretty handy positive score in excess of 5000 - I don't recommend this unless you want to get thrown out of the room :).
Here are a few of my favourites:
Hand 1 OK just warming up - N opens 1 E overcalls 3 I am void in and have AKQ4 so 6 making 6+1 https://tinyurl.com/unjzgqz
Hand 3 6NTS= The bidding was a lot of fun https://tinyurl.com/wll2c9l
Hand 4 This hand very interesting East opens 1 I overcalled 4 making 11 https://tinyurl.com/w6kluqf. 2/1 suggests 1 is 5+ and 11-21 HCP causing huge problems with people used to playing SAYC. I would now routinely open 4 as East. Clearly, in this unusual hand, South can still overcall 4. In most cases The preemptive 4 would at least give EW the opportunity to consider the possibility of 5 or 6 if W was stronger.