• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Relay Systems???

#1 User is offline   mdietz39 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2013-March-05, 09:04

I am relatively new to the game. In reading about conventions, allowed and not allowed by ACBL, I find that "Relay Systems" are not allowed. And then I find that Stayman, Blackwood, Gerger, etc., are all replay bids. I am confused.

Would somebody please explain to me why the bids are allowed but there is a general rule that they are not allowed?

Thank you
Mike

#2 User is offline   Free 

• mmm Duvel
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Duvel, Whisky

Posted 2013-March-05, 09:18

Politics, lobby, selfpreservation, history, you name it ;)

AFAIK with "relay systems" it's meant systems where one player can ask his partner's entire hand. This is not the same as a "relay bid", which asks something specific (Stayman asks for a 4 card M and stops asking the rest of the hand)
"It may be rude to leave to go to the bathroom, but it's downright stupid to sit there and piss yourself" - blackshoe

#3 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2013-March-05, 09:36

I'm not sure if anyone really understands that rule.

As Free said, it doesn't apply to simple conventions that include relays, only systems that are built around relays. But there are some systems where as soon as a game force is established (e.g. after a positive response to a big club), the next player can start a series of relays to get detailed information about his partner's hand. And these systems are usually allowed.

#4 User is offline   Zelandakh 

Posted 2013-March-05, 09:49

Hello and welcome to the forums. Stayman is allowed because it is in response to a natural 1NT opening of not less than 10hcp strength (GCC R&R10). Blackwood and Gerber are allowed because they ask for aces (GCC R&R9).
(-: Zel :-)

Happy New Year everyone!