• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Minitinous Trump Break Playing cintracts

#1 User is offline   Davekapiti 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2019-August-04, 23:58

Time for the System Programmers to review, and hopefully modify, their dealing algorithm. Over the past 9 weeks I have become frustrated with the monotonous,unfair distribution of trumps, repeatedly 4 -0 or 5-0 breaks making the contract impossible to make, despite having 26 -29 HCP. Between dumy and declarer there are 8 or 9 trumps but the contract is impossible to make .

I have been playing Bridge competitively for over 40 years and I have never experienced this type of trump distribution over such a continuous period of time. Occasionally bad distribution as mentioned above can be a challenge, but the current situation is beciming quite boring t the point of expecting it each time a game in a suit has been bid correctly.

Comments from other players are welcome.

#2 User is offline   manudude03 

• - - A AKQJT9876543
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2019-August-05, 03:01

It would help if you were to provide actual numbers. What I will say though it that people in real life are terrible at shuffling and so computer dealt hands will often appear to be more distributional than normal.
Wayne Somerville

#3 User is offline   eagles123 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Crystal Palace

Posted 2019-August-05, 06:21

I have to say playing with the robots I do feel at times that things aren't random, and cards are programmed to split badly/finesses to fail etc. sometimes u have hand after hand with 5-0 splits and three finesses failing every hand and after a while it can get quite tiresome!!
"definitely that's what I like to play when I'm playing standard - I want to be able to bid diamonds because bidding good suits is important in bridge" - Meckstroth's opinion on weak 2 diamond

#4 User is offline   barmar